

■ 822.0094 or 822.0092

B 822.2671

www.pressoffice.gov.bz

PR#119-23

PRESS RELEASE

MoECST Constitutes Pro-Tempore Tertiary Teacher Training Curriculum Reform Working Group

Belmopan, May 22, 2023.

The Ministry of Education, Culture, Science and Technology (MoECST) today constituted the pro-tempore Tertiary Teacher Training Curriculum Reform Working Group comprised of representatives from all teacher training institutions aimed at transforming to competency-based education.

The main areas of focus for the working group are to review, reform, and standardize the present teacher training programmes; develop recommendations for teacher educator training, and establish articulation protocols between the secondary and tertiary levels. The working group is chaired by Dr. Hon. Louis Zabaneh, Minister of State in the MoECST, and its members are:

- Dr. Eve Aird Provost of Galen University
- Rosali Cruz Teacher Educator, Corozal Junior College
- Dr. Karen Martinez Dean of Stann Creek Ecumenical Junior College
- Rebecca Henriquez Teacher Educator, Belize Adventist Junior College
- Thisbe Lucas-Usher Dean of the University of Belize
- Miriam Paz Head Itinerary Resource Officer, Primary Curriculum Pilot Project
- Juliet Moguel Teacher Educator, Sacred Heart Junior College
- Hon. Elena Smith Senator, President of the Belize National Teachers' Union
- Consuelo Godfrey Director of Teacher Training, Pathlight
- Dr. Cynthia Thompson Chair, Belize Board of Teacher Education
- Dr. Priscilla Brown Curriculum Consultant
- Dr. Mathias Vairez Curriculum Consultant
- Natasha Mantock Education Consultant, UNICEF

The Working Group Secretariat comprises:

- Cecilia Ramirez-Smith Deputy Chief Education Officer
- Shanine Campbell Education Officer, Curriculum and Assessment Unit
- Jeannie Garbutt-Franklin Director of the Teacher Education Unit

The work of this group is expected to conclude by August 2023.

Ends

For more information, please contact: Kevin J. Chen Communications and Public Relations Officer, Ministry of Education, Culture, Science and Technology (501) 828-8004 or (501) 613-1092 pr@moecst.gov.bz